Turing/website help

Computer builds, hardware and software discussion or troubleshooting, including peripherals. Essentially a general place to talk about desktop computers.
Locked
Anonymous

Turing/website help

Post by Anonymous »

Hey, i need to make a website for a class, and my teacher wants me to make a random question generator, and somehow get it to work on this website for him. I'm not too experienced with turing, but its all we've got, I'd like to know if this is even possible, and if it is could someone help me out?

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:2328, old post ID:19737
User avatar
Red Squirrel
Posts: 29209
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Northern Ontario
Contact:

Turing/website help

Post by Red Squirrel »

Welcome to the forum :wave:

If it's a site, turing is not what you'll have to use, but rather php, and it would be fairly simple to do. There's two php tutorials in the article section that should get you started, if you have questions feel free to ask me! I know php and mysql. For something simple like what the teacher wants you can do a file database too to store the questions.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:2328, old post ID:19739
Honk if you love Jesus, text if you want to meet Him!
Chris Vogel
Posts: 5140
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:14 am

Turing/website help

Post by Chris Vogel »

Yep, you want PHP for the server-side stuff!

If you just have to dish out questions, it would be super simple. Use a rand() to pick from an array or whatever, and then spit it out to the user. If you plan on accepting an answer, it gets a bit harder.

Or you could do it with JavaScript. I would not recommend it though if you have the choice of server-side languages since they are less dependent on the client. However, you do have the advantage of not having to set up anything on the testing computer. Chances are your browser supports it already.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:2328, old post ID:19744
Anonymous

Turing/website help

Post by Anonymous »

the problem is at my school, we do not have PHP, the only program i can use is Dreamweaver, and other Studio MX related programs, the network admin has things so secure here that i couldnt install any program either.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:2328, old post ID:19755
User avatar
Red Squirrel
Posts: 29209
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 12:14 am
Location: Northern Ontario
Contact:

Turing/website help

Post by Red Squirrel »

Hmm, I don't know java, but I'm sure it's possible to do it with that. You can't really use a application programming language (ex: turing, basic, c++) for web, because of security reasons. You could maybe use activeX or something but that's an IE-only thing and is usually regarded as a security threat in most cases.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:2328, old post ID:19756
Honk if you love Jesus, text if you want to meet Him!
User avatar
manadren_it
Posts: 1810
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:48 pm

Turing/website help

Post by manadren_it »

Javascript seems like the best option. If you can't install something on the server, you need to do something client side. You could use real java, as in compile a java applet, and hope that the client browser supports it. There's probably a way to do it in flash as well. Still, that's a lot of work for something that could be accomplished in a quick bit of javascript, without having to worry about plugins or compiling code.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:2328, old post ID:19757
mana's blog {1, 2} yell at me when I get lazy
Locked