Page 1 of 1

Tip: Setting up static IP in debian

Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 1:15 pm
by Red Squirrel
When I find out something hard to find in linux figured I'll start posting it here for my own reference later, and for everyone else's as well.


To configure a static IP (an IP that will never change) in debian you must edit the file
/etc/networking/interfaces and put the following:

Code: Select all

# /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)

# The loopback interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The first network card - this entry was created during the Debian installation
# (network, broadcast and gateway are optional)
auto eth0


iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.10
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.1.0
        broadcast 192.168.1.255
        gateway 192.168.1.1
[code]

The last section is the most important, the top may or may not be the same so don't play with it unless you get an error.    In this case the IP of the server is 192.168.1.10 so if you run it as a DNS server for example, you can set that in your router's config and not worry about it changing.

To apply this configuration type /etc/init.d/networking restart

You'll get a message that it's restarting the network interface, then you'll get booted off ssh (because the IP changed) so reconnect using the new IP and it should work.

In red hat this file is /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and you would put this in it:

[code]
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=static
ONBOOT=yes
IPADDR=192.168.1.10
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=192.168.1.1
[code]

 

[color=#888888][size=85]Archived topic from Iceteks,  old topic ID:3298, old post ID:26748[/size][/color]

Tip: Setting up static IP in debian

Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 9:14 pm
by rip_phreaker
hate to be off-topic but u use sympatico don't you? cuz that ip address (192.168.1.*) is a sympatico ip...or is it the SMC router ip....i forget but thanks a lot :) i plan on running a dual boot soon with mandrake once i get my computer back and this might help me out a bit :)

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:3298, old post ID:26754

Tip: Setting up static IP in debian

Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 9:58 pm
by Red Squirrel
No all of the 192.168. range is for LANS and not associated to any ISP, but yeah I'm using sympatico. I usually get IPs starting with 142. or 209.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:3298, old post ID:26756

Tip: Setting up static IP in debian

Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 11:11 pm
by rip_phreaker
ohok, i am not too great with LAN and even networks in general... i find that stuff kind of bores me but ya cuz i use a router and i had to reconfig some stuff to work with 192.168.2.1 ip addresses to connect to my router, but i think that stuff was just relating to the network and it was so slow to load it and just a pain in the arse to do

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:3298, old post ID:26759

Tip: Setting up static IP in debian

Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 11:37 pm
by Red Squirrel
Yeah networks can get complicated... especially when linux is involved. Half the settings I do I don't understand, I just follow a tutorial and cross my fingers as I type /etc/init.d/program restart. Thankfully though, dns settings can be reused when upgrading, DNS is a real PIA to configure, took me nearly a month to get it right and it still is not exactly what I want.

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:3298, old post ID:26762

Tip: Setting up static IP in debian

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:05 pm
by Red Squirrel
hahaha I had to set a different static IP in debian so I searched google and this topic was the first. :D I knew I made this topic for my own good as well as others. :D

Archived topic from Iceteks, old topic ID:3298, old post ID:29155